Skip to main content

Overview

Delivery mode: BLENDED

  • This program will be delivered during COVID-19 as a combination of online and on-campus learning.
  • Faculty will notify students of when their attendance on campus will be required.
  • We are putting measures in place for your safety and well-being, ensuring that all safety protocols are addressed. Please see BCIT COVID-19 Return to Operations for details on the mandatory procedures that have been implemented.
  • Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

Millwrights are often described as jack of all trades as they are expected to install, maintain and repair all types of machinery in almost any industry. Millwrights install, repair, overhaul and maintain all types of machinery and heavy mechanical equipment. They work from plans and blueprints and install equipment and align parts or components. Millwrights also maintain and repair machinery as required. They learn how to use grinders and lathes so they can make their own parts if necessary. Maintenance includes cleaning and lubricating, or adjusting valves and seals. They must inspect and examine the equipment to find and investigate problems and breakdowns, although some millwrights specialize in installation of machinery only.

BCIT also offers the Apprenticeship Technical Training in millwright.

The program

Training prepares students for entry-level employment as an apprentice in the millwright trade. Basic theory and related information along with hands-on shop practice will enable students to become competent in basic millwright duties. Graduates receive credit for first-year apprenticeship technical training.

Entrance Requirements

Costs & Supplies

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Job opportunities

The potential for entry into a millwright apprenticeship is good at this time. The expertise gained in this entry-level course is suitable for application to other trades and almost all industries. A graduate from this course should expect entry-level employment until an apprenticeship becomes available.

Anywhere that machinery exists there is usually work for a millwright. Employment for millwrights is mainly centred on the major BC industries: mining, pulp mills, wood processing and petrochemical plants, with smaller numbers being employed in the manufacturing field and the food processing industry. The construction industry also employs millwrights on short- and long-term contracts where their main function is the installation of equipment.

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Faculty

Instructors

Bryan Messer, Millwright CQ
Department Head
Tel: 604-456-8134
Email: Bryan_Messer@bcit.ca

Robert Braun, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8517
Email: rbraun3@bcit.ca

Stanley Jung, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8309
Email: sjung14@bcit.ca

Erick Medina, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8386
Email: Erick_Medina@bcit.ca

Andrey Murphy, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4066
Email: Andrey_Murphy@bcit.ca

Blair Patterson, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4054
Email: bpatterson26@bcit.ca

Richard Wilczek, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8339
Email: rwilczek@bcit.ca

Dan Sasso
Toolroom Attendant
Tel: 604-432-8774
Email: dsasso@bcit.ca

Staff

Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Tel: 604-451-6964
Email: Brian_Buckley@bcit.ca

Kelsey Sem
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8259
Email: Kelsey_Sem@bcit.ca

Contact Us

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.