Skip to main content

Overview

Delivery mode: BLENDED

  • This program will be delivered during COVID-19 as a combination of online and on-campus learning.
  • Faculty will notify students of when their attendance on campus will be required.
  • We are putting measures in place for your safety and well-being, ensuring that all safety protocols are addressed. Please see BCIT COVID-19 Return to Operations for details on the mandatory procedures that have been implemented.
  • Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

The apprenticeship process requires time spent on the job supplemented by in-school training. A millwright apprentice must complete a four-year program including 6,600 workplace hours and 840 in-school hours of training. The in-school training is taken in four seven-week blocks; one each year for four years. Apprentices who have completed Millwright Foundation receive credit for the first level of the apprentice technical training. BCIT offers all four levels of the technical training for the millwright apprenticeship. After completion of all four levels of training, a passing grade on the interprovincial exam will result in the BC Certificate of Apprenticeship, the BC Certificate of Qualification, and the Interprovincial Standard Endorsement, also known as the Red Seal.

Sky high and geared up!

Millwrights on the rise at Whistler Blackcomb – meet Sean Duff, a BCIT graduate of the Millwright Apprenticeship program.

Entrance Requirements

Costs & Supplies

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Faculty

Instructors

Bryan Messer, Millwright CQ
Department Head
Tel: 604-456-8134
Email: Bryan_Messer@bcit.ca

Robert Braun, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8517
Email: rbraun3@bcit.ca

Stanley Jung, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8309
Email: sjung14@bcit.ca

Erick Medina, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8386
Email: Erick_Medina@bcit.ca

Andrey Murphy, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4066
Email: Andrey_Murphy@bcit.ca

Blair Patterson, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4054
Email: bpatterson26@bcit.ca

Richard Wilczek, Millwright CQ
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8339
Email: rwilczek@bcit.ca

Dan Sasso
Toolroom Attendant
Tel: 604-432-8774
Email: dsasso@bcit.ca

Staff

Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Tel: 604-451-6964
Email: Brian_Buckley@bcit.ca

Kelsey Sem
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8259
Email: Kelsey_Sem@bcit.ca

Harmonized & Gap Training

Harmonized Millwright Apprenticeship

As of April 5, 2021 BCIT Millwright has fulfilled its responsibilities to the ITA BC Millwright transition plan. As of this date we no longer offer any courses in the current stream and only harmonized courses moving forward.

Apprentices who have not transitioned into the harmonized stream should contact ITA BC regarding options to continue their apprenticeship path.

GAP Training

BCIT has worked with ITA BC to create an online version of the L1-C –> L2-H GAP Training. This course will be available in March 2021 and must be completed August 1, 2021.

Apprentices requiring L2-C –> L3-H can contact ITA BC regarding this GAP Training.

Contact Us

BCIT Apprenticeship Service Office
BCIT_apprentice@bcit.ca
604-456-8100

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.