Skip to main content

Overview

The Bachelor of Technology in Electronics is a baccalaureate degree approved by the BC Provincial Ministry of Advanced Education and is designed for electronics technologists (or equivalent) who wish to complete a degree while working. The program provides graduates with the knowledge and skills required to design electrical, computer, automation and communication systems. It develops strong mathematics, physics and analytical foundations and broadens this skill set by including business management and liberal studies elements. This degree enhances career advancement opportunities for graduates and supplies the high technology sector with well educated professionals possessing strong practical skills.

Program delivery mode: in person

  • This program will be delivered in person for the coming semester.
  • We have put measures in place for your safety and well-being, ensuring that all safety protocols are addressed. Please see the BCIT COVID-19 page for details on the procedures that have been implemented.

Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

This part-time studies program is scheduled to serve the needs of working professionals, with classes held year-round, three terms per year, in the evenings and weekends.

For projected BTech Electronics course offering information, please view the Course Plan [PDF] and the sample Program Plan [PDF].

Entrance Requirements

Find out more about getting started in the program!

If the Bachelor of Technology in Electronics program interests you, review the entrance requirements below. If you have any questions regarding the entrance requirements and equivalents, please contact Program Advising.

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Faculty

Instructors

Muhammad Jamil Ahmed, PhD, PEng
Program Head, BTech, Electronics
Tel: 604-432-8660
Email: Jamil_Ahmed@bcit.ca

Jeff Bloemink, PhD, PEng (on leave)

Gino Carrese, MEng
Tel: 604-432-8484
Email: Gino_Carrese@bcit.ca

Bob Gill, MEng, PEng
Tel: 604-412-7582
Email: Bob_Gill@bcit.ca

Nurul Islam, PhD, PEng
Tel: 604-451-6804
Email: Nurul_Islam@bcit.ca

Kathy Manson, BSc, PEng
Tel: 604-432-8253
Email: Kathy_Manson@bcit.ca

Ali Palizban, PhD, PEng
Tel: 604-451-6924
Email: Ali_Palizban@bcit.ca

Hassan Saberi, MSc, PEng
Tel: 604-412-8388
Email: hsaberi@bcit.ca

Sessional instructors

Harry Chang, MSc

Russell Chore, BTech(E), PEng

Derek Deacon, BBA, JD

Maryam Dehghani Estarki, PhD, MIEEE

Monika Fricke, BEng, PEng

Eddy Fung, MBA

Maryam Heshmatzadeh, PhD

Erik Korolenko, PhD

George Lipski, MSc

Andrew McConnell, PhD

Tejinder Randhawa, PhD

Hamed Karimi Sharif, PhD

Assistant instructors

Andrew Mokrzycki, MSc, AScT
Tel: 604-412-7584
Email: Andrew_Mokrzycki@bcit.ca

Staff

Amir Yousefi, PhD, PEng
Associate Dean
Tel: 604-432-8976
Email: Amir_Yousefi@bcit.ca

Rosmin Gilani
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8369
Email: rgilani@bcit.ca

Katie Howard
Program Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8237
Email: khoward18@bcit.ca

Contact Us

Katie Howard
Program Assistant
khoward18@bcit.ca
604-432-8237

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.