Skip to main content

Overview

Delivery mode: BLENDED

  • This program will be delivered during COVID-19 as a combination of online and on-campus learning.
  • Faculty will notify students of when their attendance on campus will be required.
  • We are putting measures in place for your safety and well-being, ensuring that all safety protocols are addressed. Please see BCIT COVID-19 Return to Operations for details on the mandatory procedures that have been implemented.
  • Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

Power Engineers operate, maintain and manage industrial power and process plants. These plants are associated with various industries such as pulp and paper, chemical manufacturing, food processing, electrical generation, petroleum refining, institutional mechanical systems and others. Provincial regulations require that plant personnel be certified prior to assuming positions of responsibility in the operation of fired pressure equipment.

Certificates range from the entry level of Fourth Class to the highest level of First Class. The larger the plant, the higher the level of certificate required to operate and manage the facility.

This program provides sound practical and technical knowledge and skills to persons desiring to enter the power engineering field. After completing this program, graduates are prepared to write the BC Safety Authority examinations for an Interprovincial Fourth Class Power Engineer’s Certificate of Competency.

The program

The program is divided into two levels. Classroom activity consists of lectures, demonstrations, audiovisual presentations and exercises that provide practical working knowledge of plant systems. Power plant tours, extensive workshop and power plant laboratory experience are provided to reinforce theoretical concepts, develop manual skills and familiarity with power engineering techniques.

Check out Global TV visits Power Engineering at the BCIT Open House:

Entrance Requirements

Costs & Supplies

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Job opportunities

Former graduates have secured employment in hospitals, chemical plants, oil refineries, breweries, pulp and paper plants, sawmills, schools and institutions. Average salaries reported by students were among the highest when compared to other occupational programs.

Graduates of this program may be able to obtain employment as Fourth Class Power Engineers in industry, and qualify for positions as plant operators and maintenance technicians.

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Faculty

Instructors

Mike Safoniuk, PhD
Department Head
Tel: 604-431-4929
Email: Mike_Safoniuk@bcit.ca

Frank Cichon, Power Eng 2nd Class
Chief Engineering for Educational Equipment
Tel: 604-431-4931
Email: Frank_Cichon@bcit.ca

Harmesh Chander, BEng (Mech), Power Eng 2nd Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8558
Email: hchander@bcit.ca

Alok Dhungana, MASc, MBA Candidate, PEng
Faculty
Tel: 604-431-4930
Email: adhungana@bcit.ca

Ritchie A. Diopita, BEng, Power Eng 3rd Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4093
Email: Ritchie_Diopita@bcit.ca

Harb Doad, Power Eng 1st Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8776
Email: Harb_Doad@bcit.ca

Suzanne Doyon, Power Eng 2nd Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-456-1146
Email: Suzanne_Doyon@bcit.ca

Wai-Chung Lam, BSc, Power Eng 1st Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8880
Email: Wai-Chung_Lam@bcit.ca

Alex Podut, MASc
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4091
Email: Alex_Podut@bcit.ca

Joseph Stadel, Power Eng 2nd Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-451-7114
Email: Joe_Stadel@bcit.ca

Sergiy Yatlo, MSc, Power Eng 1st Class, Marine Eng 2nd Class
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8631
Email: Sergiy_Yatlo@bcit.ca

Staff

Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Tel: 604-451-6964
Email: Brian_Buckley@bcit.ca

Maryann Newmeyer
Program Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8390
Email: Maryann_Newmeyer@bcit.ca

Kelsey Sem
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8259
Email: Kelsey_Sem@bcit.ca

Advisory committee

Chris Coleman
Chief Engineer, Westcoast Reduction Ltd.

Paul MacPhee
Cheif Engineer, Colliers Maintenance Services

Stephen McKinney
Operations Manager/Chief Engineer, Covanta Energy

Clayton Mullen
Operations Manager/Chief Engineer, BC Hydro

Robert Nyden
Steam Chief, Endbridge Inc.

Dave Paulin
Area Director, Institute of Power Engineers

Eric Steinson
President, Institute of Power Engineers

James Torocov
Thermal Energy Manager, Engineering and Utilities, UBC

Andrew Wright
Chief Engineer, Teck Metals Ltd

Nicole Victor
Alternative Fuels Advisor, Fortis BC

Contact Us

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.