Skip to main content

Overview

Level A: This program teaches more advanced welding skills and related theory than were taught in the Welder Foundation and B Level programs:

  • pipe welding with stainless steel electrodes
  • low-alloy steel electrodes
  • more advanced blueprint reading
  • welding metallurgy, etc.

Program delivery mode: in person

  • This program will be delivered in person for the coming semester.
  • We have put measures in place for your safety and well-being, ensuring that all safety protocols are addressed. Please see the BCIT COVID-19 page for details on the procedures that have been implemented.

Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

Completion of this program along with the required work experience component should provide the graduate with the broadest base of skills and employment opportunities in the diverse metal joining industries. The 8 week (two month) course is followed by a 40 week (ten month) welding practicum/job experience component, which then qualifies the candidate for A Level Certification. The A Level stamp is entered into the Welder’s Log Book by the Industry Training Authority (ITA), located at #800 – 8100 Granville Avenue, Richmond, B.C., V6Y 3T6. They can be reached toll-free at 1-866-660-6011 or locally at 778-328-8700.

Please note: Levels B and A are registered through the Welding Department, by email at BCIT_Welding@bcit.ca. Also, for your convenience we offer a two shift schedule, for hours visit the Courses section.

Entrance Requirements

Interested individuals should contact the Welding department at BCIT_Welding@bcit.ca.

Costs & Supplies

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Job opportunities

Nearly every industry employs welders. Graduates find work in such diverse work places as metal fabricating shops, general repair shops, new construction sites, mining, logging, shipbuilding, pulp mills, sawmills and oilfield camps.

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Mark Flynn
Department Head
Tel: 604-456-8082
Email: Mark_Flynn@bcit.ca

Patrick Narayan
Office Assistant
Tel: 604-456-1128
Email: Patrick_Narayan@bcit.ca

Daryl Bubersky
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8261
Email: dbubersky@bcit.ca

Paul Fowler
Faculty
Tel: 604-451-7026
Email: pfowler@bcit.ca

Pat Francois
Faculty
Tel: 604-453-4018
Email: pfrancois@bcit.ca

Ringo Gonzalez
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8632
Email: rgonzalez16@bcit.ca

David Helman
Faculty
Tel: 604-431-4961
Email: David_Helman@bcit.ca

Brian Leathley
Support Staff – Toolroom
Tel: 604-432-8845
Email: bleathley@bcit.ca

Rick Matthews
Faculty
Tel: 604-412-7407
Email: Rick_Matthews@bcit.ca

Jon Nevard
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8389
Email: jnevard@bcit.ca

Simmah Petersen
Faculty
Tel: 604-451-6802
Email: spetersen1@bcit.ca

Josh Poehlke
Faculty
Tel: 604-412-7418
Email: jpoehlke@bcit.ca

Dan Stanisavljevic
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8671
Email: Dan_Stanisavljevic@bcit.ca

Rick Walker
Faculty
Tel: 604-412-7502
Email: Rick_Walker@bcit.ca

Rod Walters
Faculty
Tel: 604-412-7162
Email: Rod_Walters@bcit.ca

Part-time Studies

This course is a hands on introduction to the common welding processes used in industry. Course will include oxyacetylene, MIG, TIG, and stick welding as well as appropriate safety procedures. CSA approved steel toed boots and 100% cotton overalls required.

  • WELD 0103 – Oxyacetylene/Braze/Welding/Cut

Introduces basics of fuel gas welding. Includes safety, shop practice, procedures and operation of related equipment. CSA approved steel-toed work boots and 100 per cent cotton coveralls are required.

Industrial and home hobby powersources will be used in this course. Set-up of equipment and correct selection of shielding gases included. CSA approved leather steel toed boots and 100% cotton coveralls required.

Covers shielding gases, electrodes, equipment, and practical applications including light gauge welding, repair etc. Majority of the welding will be done on mild steel with limited use of stainless steel and aluminum included. CSA approved leather steel toed boots and 100% cotton coveralls required.

This course covers all position plate welding. Designed for the student who wants hands on experience and basic knowledge of aluminum welding. CSA approved leather steel toed boots and 100% cotton coveralls required.

General interest course for those interested in artwork, furniture building and minor repair jobs. Focus is on the oxy-acetylene process – brazing, cutting, forming, shaping and welding. Last two sessions are spent working on a small project of the student’s choice. Project materials NOT included. CSA-approved leather steel-toed boots and 100% cotton coveralls required.

Contact Us

Mark Flynn
Department Head
Tel: 604-456-8082
Email: Mark_Flynn@bcit.ca

Patrick Narayan
Office Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8203
Email: BCIT_Welding@bcit.ca

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.