Skip to main content

Overview

Delivery mode: ONLINE

  • This program will be delivered online during COVID-19.
  • Your education is our priority and we will continue to deliver the applied instruction, collaborative experience, and industry connections that you expect from BCIT.

The apprenticeship process requires time spent on the job supplemented by in-school training. A Refrigeration Mechanic apprentice must complete a five-year program, including 7,280 workplace hours and 4 years of in-school technical training consisting of 840 in-school hours. After completion of training and passing the Grade B Gasfitter’s exam, a B.C. Certificate of Apprenticeship, B.C. Certificate of Qualification, and the Interprovincial Standard Endorsement, also known as Red Seal, will be awarded.

Entrance Requirements

Costs & Supplies

Courses

Program Details

Graduating & Jobs

Faculty, Advisors & Staff

Faculty

Robin Gibson, Refrigeration TQ and IP
Department Head
Tel: 604-456-8034
Email: rgibson15@bcit.ca

Michael Devlin, Refrigeration TQ and IP
Faculty
Tel: 604-451-6861
Email: Michael_Devlin@bcit.ca

Ricky He, Refrigeration TQ and IP
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8426
Email: Ricky_He@bcit.ca

Bryan Kramer, Refrigeration TQ and IP
Faculty
Tel: 604-432-8255
Email: bkramer2@bcit.ca

Dan Sasso
Toolroom Attendant
Tel: 604-432-8774
Email: dsasso@bcit.ca

Staff

Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Tel: 604-451-6964
Email: Brian_Buckley@bcit.ca

Kelsey Sem
Administrative Assistant
Tel: 604-432-8259
Email: Kelsey_Sem@bcit.ca

Advisory committee

Maurice Castonguay
Service Account Manager, Trane Northwest

Peter Chountalos
Senior Account Manager, Enviro Tech Mechanical

Warren Maloff
HVAC Project Manager, Pacific West Mechanical

Mark Porter
President, Airstream Heating & AC

Peter Whiten
Principle, Custom Air Conditioning Ltd.

Contact Us

BCIT Apprenticeship Service Office
604-456-8100
BCIT_apprentice@bcit.ca

Questions or comments?

Subscribe

Sign up to receive updates, invitations to events, and information about BCIT and your program.

We promise not to spam you, we won’t share your personal information, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

  • Privacy Notice: The information you provide will be used to respond your request for BCIT program information and is collected under Section 26(c) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FIPPA). For more information about BCIT’s privacy practices contact: Associate Director, Privacy, Information Access & Policy Management, British Columbia Institute of Technology, 3700 Willingdon Ave. Burnaby, BC V5A 3H2, email: privacy@bcit.ca.