Research Committee Members


The mandate of the School of Energy Research Committee is to support the advancement of applied research and development, consistent with the BCIT mission and mandate statements.

Members Areas of Interest
Mehrzad Tabatabaian, PhD, PEng
Program Head
Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical

Renewable energy, energy efficiency and harvesting, clean-low carbon energy systems, advanced FEM & CFD, numerical modeling of dynamic systems, applied mechanics, and technology applications in education.
Vice Chair
Bob Gill, MEng, PEng, FEC, SMIEEE
Faculty, Telecommunications and Networks

Dual career path: telecommunications and networks, and power systems. Tertiary interests are eHealth, vehicular technologies, industrial networking and signal processing.

Rodger Beatson, PhD
Chemical and Environmental Technology
Energy efficiency in mechanical pulping, production of dissolving pulps, forest biomass as a source of fuels and chemicals, genetic control of plant fibre properties.
Ali Palizban, PhD, PEng
Program Head
Electrical Power and Industrial Control
Electrical power systems, substation automation, control systems, instrumentation and automation, renewable energy systems, electric energy efficiency, microgrid, smart grid, hybrid and electric vehicles.
Brian Buckley, BSc
Associate Dean
Industrial and Mechanical Trades

Brent Dunn, MEng, PEng
Associate Dean
Mechanical Engineering
Kacem Habiballah, MA
Associate Dean
Chemical, Digital Communications and Machinist
Amir Yousefi, PhD, PEng
Associate Dean
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Holly Stanley
Operations Manager
School of Energy

Research Liaison
Joseph Boyd, MSc (Physics), MLS
Program Head, Applied Research Liaison Office