Honorary Doctorate of Technology Recipient

Recipients for 2018    

David Tuccaro
President, CEO, and Founder of Tuccaro Inc.
View Video

David Tuccaro is a member of the Mikisew Cree First Nation in Fort Chipewyan. Raised alongside eight siblings in a two-bedroom house with no running water, he has risen to become the President, CEO, and Founder of Tuccaro Inc., Canada's leading private Indigenous group of companies.

For over 30 years, Tuccaro Inc. has been a leader in providing essential services for oil sands operators. As an Indigenous entrepreneur and supporter of community, education, and Indigenous development, David’s personal commitment and the purpose of Tuccaro Inc. companies is to create opportunities for Indigenous people at every level of education and employment.

David is also the founder of the Northeastern Aboriginal Business Association, which features over 100 member companies with combined revenues of over $1 billion. A member of the National Task Force on Oil Sands Strategies and the National Aboriginal Financing Task Force, David also served as Chair of the Aboriginal Business Canada Market Expansion Group. He has sat on the Board of the Regional Health Authority as well as the Alberta Chamber of Resources. As Board Chair of lndspire, an Indigenous-led registered charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people, David is helping to set strategic direction for the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards and deepen the organization’s support of K-12 education and Indigenous teachers across Canada.

In 1998, David was named one of Financial Post Magazine’s “Top 40 under 40.” He received the National Aboriginal Achievement Award in 1999 in the field of Business and Commerce. Venture magazine honoured him in their July/August 2000 issue as one of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People.

Sue Paish
CEO, LifeLabs
View Video

Sue Paish leads LifeLabs’ approximately 5,400 professionally-trained employees who deliver over 100 million laboratory tests and results, serving 19 million patient visits annually.

Prior to joining LifeLabs, Sue led Pharmasave Drugs (National) Ltd., the largest independently owned and operated banner of community pharmacies in Canada. This followed a successful career practicing law and managing an international law practice. Sue was the managing partner of Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP in BC (now Fasken Martineau), where she led the growth of the firm from one office to an international presence with nine offices on three continents.

Sue received a Queen's Counsel designation in 2001 and was awarded the University of British Columbia's Faculty of Law Distinguished Alumni Award in 2003. She has also been recognized as one of BC's “Most Influential Women in Business” and was inducted into “Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Hall of Fame.”

Sue is a recognized community and business leader. She currently sits on a number of corporate and community boards including the CORIX group of companies, the Executive Committee of the BC Business Council, and the Faculty Advisory Board for the Sauder School of Business. She formerly chaired the boards for the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research, the Vancouver Board of Trade, the MLA Compensation Task Force, and served on the BC Pharmaceutical Task Force.

Sue’s family and her love of the outdoors are her prime motivators. With husband Brad and three daughters sometimes in tow, Sue can often be found camping, fishing, or hiking the North Shore Mountain trails and many remote areas of BC.


* Above profile is as of date award was presented.

Recipients from 2017 to 1995

Position titles are listed as they were at the time of nomination.


Diana Swain
Senior Investigative Journalist, CBC News
Host, CBC News Network

David Emerson
Chair of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada


Dominic Barton
Global Managing Director, McKinsey and Company

Julie Payette
Chief Operating Officer, Montreal Science Centre


Bill Good

Launi Skinner
CEO, First West Credit Union


Jill Leversage
Managing Director at Highland West Capital Ltd.

Donald Lindsey
President & CEO, Teck Resources

Tamara Vrooman
President & CEO, Vancity


Cornelia Hahn Oberlander
World renowned landscape architect

Shawn Atleo
National Chief to the Assembly of First Nations


John Babcook
Vice President, Biologics Division
Centre for Drug Research and Development

Nancy McKinstry
Chair, ICBC Board of Directors


John Furlong
Leader of the organizing team for the Vancouver 2010 Olympics and Paralympic Winter Games

Arun Garg
Medical Director of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Royal Columbia Hospital
Clinical Professor of Pathology, UBC Faculty of Medicine

Peter Legge
Chairman and CEO, Canada Wide Media Limited

Jack Munro
Chair of the Labour Heritage Project
honouring the workers who built British Columbia

Rudy North
Founder, Phillips, Hager & North
Founder and President, North Growth Management

Peter Robinson
CEO, David Suzuki Foundation


Jerry Lampert
President and CEO, BC Business Council

Donald McInnes
Founder of renewable energy company, Plutonic Power Corp.

Terrance K. Salman
Founder of Salman Partners Ltd.
Supporter of research into the causes of and treatment for AIDS, stem cell research and prostate cancer

Dennis Skulsky
CEO, CanWest


Mike Holmes
Leadership in construction and the environment

Dr. Ricardo Lagos
Former President of Chile
Leadership in education, social, cultural and economic development

Tony Parsons
Broadcaster, mentor and volunteer

Allan Trice
Pioneer in the field of named submersible, remote and autonomous underwater vehicle


Peter Armstrong
Entrepreneur, President and CEO, Rocky Mountaineer Vacations

Dr. Joseph Gosnell
Statesman, Hereditary Chief, Chief Negotiator for Nisga'a Treaty, renowned carver


Dr. Marc Garneau
President, Canadian Space Agency, Astronaut

Michael Harcourt
Commissioner, BC Treaty Commission
Former Premier, BC

Dr. Patrick McGeer
Professor Emeritus, UBC
Former Provincial Cabinet Minister

Michael E. Phelps
Chairman, Dornoch Capital Inc.


Stephen Lewis
Founder, Steven Lewis Foundation
Special Envoy of the UN Secretary General
Deputy Executive Director, UNICEF

Wendy B. McDonald
Chairman and CEO, BC Bearing Group

David Podmore
President and CEO, Concert Properties Ltd.


Rick Hansen
President and CEO, Man in Motion

Dr. John S. MacDonald
Co-founder, Chairman and CEO, Day4Energy Inc.
Retired Co-founder, President and CEO, MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates Ltd.

Grace McCarthy
Former Deputy Premier, BC
Co-Founder of CHILD Foundation

Bruce Turner
Past President, Minera Escondida Ltd.


Larry Berg
CEO, Vancouver International Airport Authority

Doug Drummond
Former Mayor, City of Burnaby

Dr. Donald Rix
Chair, MDS Metro Laboratory Services

Carole Taylor
Chair, Board of Directors, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation


Dr. Julia Levy
President and CEO, QLT Inc.


William Copeland
Mayor, City of Burnaby

Robert George
Elder Advisor, BCIT

Barry Lapointe
President, Kelowna Flightcraft

Arnet Pentland
President, Interprovincial Association of Prosthetics and Orthotics

Dal M. Richards
Band Leader

Thomas A. Simons
Former BCIT Board of Governor member
President, Chairman and CEO, H.A. Simons Ltd.


Brian A. Canfield
Chair, BC Telecom Inc. & BC Tel


G. Wynne Powell
Former Chair, BCIT Board of Governors

Dr. Wah Jun Tse
Professor Pediatrics, UBC


Cecil Roper
Founding Principal, BCIT

Samuel Simpson
Director, BC Apprenticeship Board


Jack Munro
President, IWA

Leslie Peterson

Flemming Sondergaard
Past BCIT Board of Governors Chair


Kenneth Dye
President & CEO, Workers' Compensation Board

Marie Taylor
Chair, Aerospace Project