BCIT 2017 Honorary Doctorates

BCIT is proud to celebrate this year's Honorary Doctorate of Technology recipients, the honorable David Emerson and Diana Swain. 

David Emerson

The British Columbia Institute of Technology is delighted to celebrate the Honourable David Emerson with an Honorary Doctorate of Technology, recognizing his many outstanding contributions to the public and private sectors.

As the Minister of International Trade, Mr. Emerson oversaw the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games and the Asia Pacific Gateway Initiative. During his time as Trade Minister, he played a key role in the 2006 Softwood Lumber Agreement. In February 2017, Mr. Emerson was appointed as the softwood lumber trade envoy to the United States. He was also the first President and CEO of the Vancouver International Airport Authority.

Mr. Emerson has been honoured for his many significant achievements with an appointment into the Queen's Privy Council by the Governor General in 2004 and with the Order of British Columbia in 2011.

Diana Swain

The British Columbia Institute of Technology is thrilled to celebrate Diana Swain with an Honorary Doctorate of Technology, in recognition of her many achievements in investigative journalism and for her contributions to Canadian public life.

As the host of The Investigators with Diana Swain on the CBC News Network and as a CBC News Senior Investigative Journalist, Ms. Swain is one of Canada's leading investigative journalists. In three decades of reporting, she has developed a reputation for conducting compelling interviews and uncovering stories that matter to Canadians. Ms. Swain is also a BCIT alumna. Diana Swain's talent and drive are an inspiration to BCIT's graduating class of 2017.