Research Committee & Contacts

The School of Computing and Academic Studies (SoCAS) research committee encourages research within SoCAS and supports the research goals of BCIT.

Our mission

To facilitate the advancement of the School of Computing and Academic Studies' (SoCAS) applied research agenda as it relates to and supports the educational and industry objectives of BCIT's Institutional Applied Research Mandate.


The committee's objectives can be summarized as follows:

Key strategies

The committee will pursue the following strategies:

Complementary strategies


Aaron Hunter
Acting Chair, School of Computing & Academic Studies Research Committee
& Faculty, Computer Systems Technology - Full-time Diploma
(604) 432-8325, Research Site

Michal Aibin
Faculty, Computing
(604) 412-7494

Borna Noureddin
Faculty, Computer Systems Technology - Bachelor of Technology
(604) 453-4007

David Holloway
Faculty, Mathematics
(604) 456-8199

Djamel Khelifi
Faculty, Chemistry
(604) 431-4932

James Booth
Faculty, Physics
(604) 451-7073

Joe Boyd
Program Head,
Applied Research Liaison Office (ARLO)
(604) 456-1031

Michael Bourke
Program Head, Liberal Studies
(604) 456-1099

Patrick Neal
Program Coordinator, Forensic Science & Technology
(604) 412-7641

Shannon Kelly
Program Head, Communications - Continuing Education
(604) 451-7065