Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Recipient for 2016

Mark Angelo: With his commitment to local ecosystems, including the restoration of Guichon Creek and countless other waterways across British Columbia, Mark has built a lasting legacy at BCIT.

The inaugural chair of the Rivers Institute at BCIT, Mark was also the Program Head for the BCIT Fish, Wildlife and Recreation program. He retired in 2011 after enjoying a 37-year career at the institute. On top of the countless accolades he received at BCIT such as the Distinguished Alumni Award for Lifetime Achievement, Mark also garnered global recognition for founding BC Rivers Day, World Rivers Day, and the Rivers Institute at BCIT. 

* Above profile is as of date award was presented.

Recipients from 2012 to 1993

Position titles are listed as they were at the time of nomination.


Jim Mitchell
Retired BCIT Director, Student Services and BCIT Alumnus


Marsh Heinekey
Retired BCIT Instructor, Director, Dean and Acting Vice President of Education


Gordon H. Farrell
Exemplary BCIT teacher with record of volunteer and community service

Ron Hill
Exemplary teacher with record of community service and who overcame illness


Philip Henderson
Retired BCIT Student Association Business Manager (1971-1988)

Julia Blockberger
Former Chair, BCIT Board of Governors


Joan Harrison
Chair, BCIT Foundation


Dr. John Gilbert
Principal, College of Health Disciplines, UBC

Amarnath Kshatriya
Retired BCIT Instructor, Chemistry


Dave Mitchell
Associate Dean, Aerospace Programs


Norman Alexander
Retired BCIT Instructor, Forest Resources

Margaret C. Briscall
Retired BCIT Associate Dean/Instructor, Financial Management

Tom Kozar
Retired BCIT Instructor, Mechanics Provincial Vice President of the BC Government Employees Union


Dixie Stockmayer
Director, BCIT Learning Resources Unit


Terry Fletcher
Retired A/Associate Dean, Automotive

Don Guthrie (posthumously)
BCIT Fish Wildlife Instructor

Gordon R. Harris
Retired BCIT Pulp and Paper Instructor

Robert J. Merriam
Retired BCIT Instructor, Technical Teacher Education and past Chair of the Education Council


John Ansell
Board Chair, Island Broadcasting and former BCIT Advisory Committee member

Duncan M. Macpherson
Retired Vice President, BCIT

Cecil Roper
Founding Principal, BCIT


Cliff McAdam (posthumously)
BCIT Faculty

Moose Manifold
Retired BCIT Faculty

Walter Olsen (posthumously)
BCIT Faculty


Margaret Neylan
Project Consultant, BCIT School of Health Sciences

David Yarmish
Superintendent of Human Resources, Prince George Pulp and Paper