Contact Us

BCIT's human resources professionals are committed to supporting current and prospective employees to achieve their professional and personal goals. Our team of professionals works towards promoting best practices and positive employee relations in an inclusive environment.

    

We have been selected as one of Canada's Best Diversity Employers for the last two years and BC's Top Employers for four years in a row. Find out why. 

The employees of the Human Resources Department share a common purpose: to provide consultative support services in the areas of recruitment, salary and benefits administration, employee training and organizational development, employee advisory services, labour relations, and employee record systems.

HR Reception

Responsible for responding to general inquires regarding employee benefits, extended health and dental claims and cards, Fair Pharmacare, emergency travel assistance, HR documents and forms.

HR Assistant
 Jessica Bowal
jbowal1@bcit.ca
604-432-8384
General Inquiries
hrassist@bcit.ca
604-432-8384

Advisory Services

The Advisory Services team provides a range of human resources services for employees and managers including advice on recruitment and selection, collective agreement interpretation, HR planning, job classification, benefits administration and career development. Each department or school is assigned an Advisor, Recruiter Specialist, and Coordinator. Please contact your HR team [PDF] directly for assistance.

Manager (Interim)
Stephanie St Jean sstjean@bcit.ca
604-432-8824
Advisor (Interim) Pui Lam Pui_Lam@bcit.ca
604-456-8037
Advisor Monica Lueg
Monica_Lueg@bcit.ca
604-412-7498
Advisor Jason Johnson
jjohnson149@bcit.ca
604-432-8616
Advisor Tanya Prevost Tanya_Prevost@bcit.ca
604-451-6791
Recruitment Specialist Jennifer Wong  jwong654@bcit.ca
604-451-6997
Recruitment Specialist
Sarah Dueck

Sarah_Dueck@bcit.ca
604-432-8894
Recruitment Assistant Mark Mendoza mmendoza25@bcit.ca
604-431-4921
Coordinator Laura Triay
Laura_Triay@bcit.ca
604-451-6840
Coordinator Mari Komatsu Mari_Komatsu@bcit.ca
604-432-8342
Coordinator Britney MacInnis bmacinnis1@bcit.ca
604-453-4068

Auxiliary Services

Auxiliary Services recruits candidates for administrative and trades positions and coordinates temporary placements due to supported leave and temporary work assignments.

Recruitment Specialist,
Auxiliary Services
Pamela Smith Pamela_Smith@bcit.ca
604-412-7547

Labour Relations

Labour Relations works with the unions and management to facilitate constructive and expeditious resolution of issues regarding collective agreements, policies, legislation, grievances and collective bargaining.

Manager Clodine Sartori
Clodine_Sartori@bcit.ca
604-432-8594
Consultant Christie Macdonald

christie_macdonald@bcit.ca
604-451-6857
Consultant William Duvall
wduvall@bcit.ca
604-431-4996
Consultant Valerie Frank Parsons
vfrankparsons@bcit.ca
604-456-8068
Assistant Danielle Somogyi
Danielle_Somogyi@bcit.ca
604-431-4920

Organizational & People Development

Organizational and People Development offers a range of support services regarding leadership and management development, team building, change management, group facilitation, career counselling and professional development funding.




Part-time Studies Benefits and Retirements

Our Part-time Studies Benefits Team specializes in coordinating and managing benefits and retirements for part-time studies instructors and faculty.

Pension & Benefits Specialist Heather Thomas heather_thomas@bcit.ca
604-432-8596

Systems and Skills Training

The Systems and Skills Training Team provides HR related information and metrics to BCIT and external agencies, and systems expertise, training and services for HR related technology and core BCIT software. We also coordinate recruitment testing.

Advisor, HR Analytics Marcus Lee mlee12@bcit.ca
604-432-8591
Learning Lab
hrassist@bcit.ca

Total Compensation

The Total Compensation team develops and manages programs regarding competitive compensation, benefits, sick leave management, job evaluation systems and wellness initiatives.

Manager
(Vacant)

Consultant (Vacant) Please contact Heather Thomas
Assistant
Brian McNeill Brian_McNeill@bcit.ca
604-456-8005
Assistant Wendy McLeod
Wendy_McLeod@bcit.ca
604-432-8593

VP Human Resources Office

Interim Vice President
Paula D. Boddie
pboddie@bcit.ca
604-432-8893
Assistant to VP
Ingrid Friesen Ingrid_Friesen@bcit.ca
604-451-6792