Recognizing BCIT's 2011 Stars

Extra Mile Awards

The Extra Mile Awards is presented to four individuals and two departments from across the Institute.

Criteria are attitude, skill, productivity, judgement, innovation, communication skills, customer service, or simply the person or department who goes the extra mile on a regular basis.

Winners:

Extra Mile Individual

Jim Armstrong School of Energy

School of Energy

Kevin Cudihee

School of Computing and Academic Sciences

Joanne Crowder

Imaging, Ancillary Services

Joanne Stone-Campbell

Aboriginal Services, Student Services

Extra Mile Department

Medical Radiography

School of Health science

Educational Technology Services

Learning & Technology Services



Applied Research

This award honours and recognizes an individual or group of BCIT employees who made an outstanding contribution in terms of advancement of knowledge, or advancement of economic and/or societal well-being, through the development, application and/or implementation of technology.

Winners:

Ellen Wasan

School of Healthy Sciences



Team Effort Award

Team Effort Awards is presented as merited to groups, task teams or committees that have made a significant contribution to BCIT's business processes, student success or employee morale.

Winners:

Aviation Operations Team

Aerospace Programs, School of Transportation

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is given to a BCIT employee who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities.

Winner:

Pat Matthieu

Enrollment Planning



Teaching Excellence Awards

A Teaching Excellence Award is given in each of BCIT's schools. Nominations are welcomed from peers, students, managers, Advisory Committee members, industry partners, or anyone else who believes a BCIT instructor is doing an exceptional job.

Winners:

El Ladha

School of Health Sciences

Darlene Webb

School of Computing and Academic Studies

Richard Ranftl

School of Business



Jessica King

School of Transportation

Svetlana Brzev

School of Construction and the Environment

Enrico Murru

School of Energy