Recognizing BCIT's 2009 Stars

Extra Mile Awards

The Extra Mile Awards will be presented to an individual and a department from across the Institute.

Criteria are attitude, skill, productivity, judgement, innovation, communication skills, customer service, or simply the person or department who goes the extra mile on a regular basis.

Winners:

Extra Mile Individual

Jeff Otto School of Transportation

Randy Singer School of Health Sciences

Greg Buerk School of Transportation

Annabelle Addems
Campus Planning, Finance and Administration (DTC)

Extra Mile Department

Mathematics Department School of Computing and Academic Studies

Central Stores Supply Management, Financial Services

Power Engineering Department School of Manufacturing, Electronics and Industrial Processes



Applied Research

This award honours and recognizes an individual or group of BCIT employees who made an outstanding contribution in terms of advancement of knowledge, or advancement of economic and/or societal well-being, through the development, application and/or implementation of technology.

Winner:

(tied this year)

Christine Flegal Technology Centre, Research and International

Serhat Beyenir School of Manufacturing, Electronics and Industrial Processes



Team Effort Award

Team Effort Awards will be presented as merited to groups, task teams or committees that have made a significant contribution to BCIT's business processes, student success or employee morale..

Winners:

3 Blog Night Team Marketing and Communications

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award will be given to a BCIT employee who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities.

Winner:

Murray Smith Information Technology Services

Wellness and Safety Award

The Wellness and Safety award will be given to a BCIT employee who made a significant contribution to BCIT's wellness and safety initiatives.

Winner:

Peter Odynsky Student Services

Earth Apple Award

This award is given to an individual, department, or on-campus service provider that has set an outstanding example of environmental practices on campus.

Winner:

Mari Komatsu Human Resources



Teaching Excellence Awards

A Teaching Excellence Award will be given in each of BCIT's schools. Nominations are welcomed from peers, students, managers, Advisory Committee members, industry partners, or anyone else who believes a BCIT instructor is doing an exceptional job.

Winners:

Martin Bollo School of Construction and the Environment

Scott Hagen School of Computing and Academic Studies

Barbara Fellnermayer School of Business



Dr. Koroosh Nikfetrat School of Manufacturing, Electronics and Industrial Processes

Denise Beaupre School of Health Sciences

Myles Alphonso School of Transportation

Part-Time Studies Teaching Excellence Awards

This award recognizes part-time studies teachers. Nominations are welcomed form peers, students, manager, Advisory Committee members, industry partners, or anyone else who believes a BCIT instructor is doing an exceptional job.

Winners:

Colleen Penrowly School of Computing and Academic Studies

Jennifer Figner School of Business